RULES AND FIELD MECHANICS
Test 16

Situation 1:  With a runner on 1st base, the batter hits a 2-1 pitch near the 1st base dugout.  The pitcher calls off the 1st baseman and catches the ball.  Before the next pitch the offense appeals to the umpires that the pitcher is using a glove with a shiny grey plastic insert in one of the fingers.  The umpires agree that the Pitcher’s glove is illegal.  (Pick one or more correct answers) (A) The out stands; (B) The pitcher must get another glove; (C) the pitcher is disqualified; (D) The runner on 1st is awarded 2nd base, (E) The batter now has a count of 2 and 2. 
Answer:  A and B
Situation 2:  There is a runner on 3rd and 1st.  A batted ball strikes an umpire on the ankle as he stands on the grass in the infield.  The umpires call “dead ball” and award the batter 1st base, as well as award the runners on base home and 2nd.  Correct or in correct call?
Answer:  Incorrect; the batter-runner is awarded 1st, the runner on 1st goes to 2nd, but the runner on 3rd is not forced to advance – he stays at 3rd.
Situation 3:  With runners on 3rd and 2nd and 2 outs, the batter hits a sinking line drive into left-center field.  The left fielder dives parallel to the ground and the balls flies directly into his glove.  The fielder maintains control of the ball as he crashes into the ground head first.  He sits up, obviously shaken and slips the glove and ball (buried in the webbing) off his hand and sets it on the ground while trying to clear the cobwebs from his head.  Is the batter out? Or, did the fielder loose control of the ball when he set the glove down?

Answer:  It is the judgment of the umpire, but by setting the ball in the glove on the ground, the action was voluntary and should be ruled a catch.
Situation 4:  There are no outs; the batter hits a fly ball to left field.  Both the runners on 2nd and 3rd re-touch and advance.  The defensive manager yells for his players to appeal that the runner at 3rd left early.  The umpire throws a new ball to the pitcher, the pitcher steps off the rubber and in throwing the ball to 3rd, tosses it into the stands.  (Choose one or more correct answers) (A) The runner on 3rd is out; (B) The runner on 3rd scores; (C) The runner on 2nd scores; (D) The runner at 2nd remains there; (E) No further appeals can be made, and (F) Once a new ball is put in play, the defense may try another appeal at 3rd.
Answer:  B, C, and E
Situation 5:  Umpire interference occurs when: (A) He prevents the catcher from throwing to retire a runner who is attempting to steal; (B) He is hit by a batted ball before the ball passes a fielder other than the pitcher; (C) He is hit by a thrown ball; (D) He inadvertently handles a live ball; (E) All of the above, and (F) All of the above, except (D).
Answer:  A, B, and D
Situation 6:  The batter bunts the ball out in front of home plate and toward 1st.  The batter-runner dashes down the line, but not within the “running lane.”  The catcher jumps out from behind home, grabs the ball and starts the throw to the fielder at 1st, but holds up when he determines that he cannot complete the throw because of the position of the batter-runner.  The defense appeals “interference” on the part of the runner.  What is your call?
Answer:  The play stands because the catcher made no actual attempt to throw to 1st.
Situation 7:  There is one out and a runner on 2nd and 3rd.  The batter strikes out and the scoreboard keeper quickly turns on the light for the 2nd out.  The runner on 2nd turns and looks.  Seeing two ‘out’ lights on and thinking the recent swing would make the 3rd out, begins to trot off the field to the 1st base dugout.  As the umpire, what do you rule?
Answer:  The runner abandoned his right to 2nd base and is out.
Situation 8:  With a runner on 1st, the batter hits a foul ball right back to the screen.  The runner returns to 1st and re-tags.  The plate umpire throws a new ball back to the pitcher while the catcher shags the errant rolling foul ball.  The pitcher takes the rubber.  The runner at 1st takes his lead off the base and the pitcher steps off the rubber and fires the ball over in an attempt to pick off the runner with a great swipe tag by the baseman.  What call do the umpires make?

Answer:  Put the runner back on 1st as the batter was not yet in the box, and the umpire had not called “play.”
Situation 9:  The batter bunts out in front of home plate, the 1st baseman sets up for an inside throw as the catcher grabs the ball.  The batter runner runs to 1st in foul territory and is hit squarely in the back from the catcher’s off-line throw.  The plate umpire rules the batter-runner out for interference with the throw to 1st by the runner not being in the running lane.  Is this a correct or flawed call?
Answer:  If the plate umpire believes that the catcher and 1st baseman could have recorded an out with the batter-runner in foul territory, then the throw was not a quality one and the ball is dead and the runner is awarded 1st.  If the plate umpire believes that the runner, being in the running lane, the 1st baseman could have caught the throw that hit the batter-runner in foul territory, then the batter-runner is out.
Situation 10:  In a Juniors game, there are 2 outs and a runner on 1st with a count of 2-2 on the batter “F”.  The catcher does not catch the swing-and-miss by the batter on the next pitch.  The catcher, not aware of the count, fires the ball to 2nd base in an attempt to retire the runner attempting to steal.  The 2nd baseman catches the ball while standing on the bag before the runner arrives.  Which of the following are correct:  (A) The batter is out on strike; (B) The runner was not tagged and is safe; (C) The runner is out; (D) The batter-runner is safe at 1st and the inning continues, and (E) The batter leading off the next inning is “G.”

Answer:  C, E
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