RULES AND FIELD MECHANICS

Test 7

Situation 1:  The batter bunts the ball in fair territory and in running to 1st base unintentionally touches the ball.  Umpire declares the batter runner out?  Is the umpire RIGHT or WRONG?
Situation 2:  Runner on 3rd coming toward the plate to score.  Catcher is waiting for the ball blocking the runner from the plate.  The catcher then receives the ball and tags out the runner. Umpire declares the runner out.  Is umpire RIGHT or WRONG?
Situation 3:  The batter bats out of order and reaches base safely.  An appeal is made before another pitch is delivered.  The umpire declares the batter who reached base safely to be out.  Is the umpire RIGHT or WRONG?
Situation 4:  The batter hits an infield fly with 1 out and runners on 1st and 2nd.  The ball comes down and hits runner on 2nd.  Umpire declares batter out due to Infield Fly Rule and also declares runner out for being hit with a fair batted ball.  Is the umpire RIGHT or WRONG?
Situation 5:  Home run hit over the fence, batter runner misses 2nd as he rounds the bases.  Ball is retrieved and immediately thrown to 2nd base and an appeal made to the umpire.  Umpire declares batter runner out.  Is umpire RIGHT or WRONG?
Situation 6:  Pitcher is on the pitcher’s plate, and tries to pick the runner off 1st base.  Ball gets by 1st baseman and goes into dugout.  Runner stops at 2nd but umpire waves runner to 3rd.  Is umpire RIGHT or WRONG?

Situation 7:  When 1 base runner passes another while circling the bases, which 1 is called out?
Situation 8:  Runners on 1st and 3rd base.  Batter hits infield fly which is dropped by the fielder.  Umpire rules the batter out.  Is umpire RIGHT or WRONG?
Situation 9:  Pitcher in trouble, manager goes out to talk to him.  Shortstop picks up the ball and makes several pitches to the catcher from the rubber.  Is the shortstop now the pitcher of that game?  YES or NO!
Situation 10:  With no force play involved, 2 runners are occupying the same base and the fielder tags both while they are standing on the base.  Which of the 2, if any, shall the umpire declare out?
Test 7

05-Jul-09

