RULES AND FIELD MECHANICS

Test 3

Situation 1:  A fielder in making a catch has the ball ricochet of his glove and against his body where he traps the ball with his arm.  Is this a catch?
Situation 2:  A foul ball bounces off the bat to the catcher’s chest protector and directly into his mitt.  Is this a catch?
Situation 3:  If the pitcher delivers an illegal pitch with no runners on base and the batter hits the ball on the ground to the shortstop, who throws him out at 1st, would this be a legal play?
Situation 4:  An umpire makes a call in the 3rd inning that is questioned by one of the managers.  After the game that manager decides to protest the game.  Can he do that?
Situation 5:  The batter squares around to bunt, but does not move the bat forward.  Is this a bunt attempt and a strike?
Situation 6:  Dropping the bat after hitting a pitch, the ball rolls back against the bat.  Should the batter be declared out?

Situation 7:  Runner on 3rd leaves too soon, the batter hits a fly ball to the outfield.  The runner returns and tags up and reaches home safely.  Does the run count?
Situation 8:  A batter gets a hit.  Afterwards, it is found that the bat is illegal.  Does the hit count?  Is the batter out?  Is this grounds for a protest?
Situation 9:  The bases are full.  The 3rd baseman asks for “time” to confer with the pitcher.  He returns to his place and the runner steps off the base and is tagged by the fielder holding the ball.  Is the runner out?
Situation 10:  In the Major Division, a pitcher assumes the set position and fails to pause before delivering the ball.  There is a runner on base.  Is this an illegal pitch?

Test 3
16-Jul-09

