RULES AND FIELD MECHANICS

Test 6

Situation 1:  Runner on first base, two strikes on batter, who swings at the pitch which hits him/her.  Is the batter out?

Answer:  Yes – Rule 2.00-STRIKE (e) & 6.05(e).  The old myth comes back to haunt you if you got this one wrong.  The hands are NOT part of the bat.  We do not know of a manufacturer that makes bats with hands on them.  Swinging strike three, ball is dead and runner on first stays on first.
Situation 2:  Runner going from second to third base falls over the shortstop that was standing in the base line fielding a batted ball.  The third baseman tags the runner with the ball.  Is the runner out?

Answer:  Yes – Rule 7.08(b) & 7.09(1).  The base runner must give ground to a defensive player who is making a play on a batted ball.  The runner is out whether it is deemed intentional or not intentional.

Situation 3:  Fielder throws his/her glove at a fair batted ball but does not hit the ball.  How many bases should be awarded?

Answer:  None – Rule 7.05(c).  The rule only penalizes a defensive player if the ball is TOUCHED by the thrown glove.
Situation 4:  Pitcher makes a wild pitch which goes out of the playing field.  Should all runners on base advance one, two, or three bases?

Answer:  One – Rule 7.05 (h).  One from the rubber and two from the field is the old adage and still (for the most part) applies.
Situation 5:  With no runners on base, pitcher raises his/her pivot foot in the act of delivering a pitch.  Is this a balk?

Answer:  No – Rule 8.05.  However, it would be one of two illegal pitches that are outlined in 8.05 (e) & (g).  You may also want to review rule 2.00 – ILLEGAL PITCH.
Situation 6:  Batted ball strikes foul line between home and first base then rolls fair before reaching first base.  Is this a FAIR ball or FOUL ball?

Answer:  Fair – Rule 2.00.  Review your definition of a fair ball.  A batted ball that settles on fair ground between home and first base is a fair ball.
Situation 7:  Fielder is standing in fair territory when a fly ball touches his/her glove which is just outside of the foul line.  Is this a FAIR ball or FOUL ball?

Answer:  Foul – Rule 2.00.  A fair/foul fly shall be adjudged according to the relative position of the ball and the foul line, not as to whether the fielder is on fair or foul territory at the time such fielder touches the ball.
Situation 8:  Outfielder catches a fly ball then immediately collides with another outfielder, dropping the ball.  Is the batter SAFE or OUT?

Answer:  No catch - Rule 2.00.  It is not a catch if the fielder collides with a player, or with a wall, or if that fielder falls down, and as a result of such collision or falling, drops the ball.
Situation 9:  With two strikes on batter, batter fouls a pitch which strikes catcher’s chest protector.  Catcher grabs the rebound, before the ball falls to the ground. Is the batter out?

Answer:  No – Rule 2.00 – FOUL TIP.  Sharp and direct from the bat to the catchers hand or mitt and anything else is a foul ball.
Situation 10:  Lineups have been announced. Before the game starts, the manager changes his/her shortstop.  Is this allowed?

Answer:  Yes – Rule 3.03.  Starting players have re-entry rights by rule.  So a starter (other than a pitcher) may come out for a sub anytime, even before the game starts and then re-enter to fulfill his/her mandatory play.
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