RULES AND FIELD MECHANICS

Test 10

Situation 1:  In a Little League baseball game, the batter comes up to the plate with a bat that is 33 inches long and 2 ¼ inches in diameter.  However, it is only 25 ounces in weight and the defense says it is an illegal bat.  The umpire agrees and makes the batter get another bat.  True or False?

Answer:  False.  Rule 1.10.  The weight to length restriction only applies to bats in the Senior and Big League programs.
Situation 2:  In a Little League baseball game, a female catcher comes out to start the game with a short model chest protector.  The umpire rules that this is legal.  True or False?

Answer:  True.  Rule 1.17 allows for a female catcher to use the short model protector.

Situation 3:  With a runner on 1st and 3rd base and 1 out, the batter hits a fly ball to right field. The runner on 1st goes almost all the way to 2nd thinking the ball will not be caught. The right fielder makes a great catch and throws the ball into the 1st baseman who tags 1st for the 3rd out of the inning after the runner on 3rd has crossed the plate. The umpire rules the run counts because the 3rd out was not a force out. True or False?

Answer:  True.  Rule 2.00 – Force Play and 4.09(a).  The runner on 1st was required to tag up by rule and the force was removed when the batter-runner was out on the catch.
Situation 4:  The batter hits a ball into deep centerfield.  While the batter-runner is rounding 1st base he collides with the 1st baseman knocking down the batter-runner.  The base umpire immediately calls “Time” and awards the batter-runner 2nd base.  True or False?

Answer:  False.  Rule 2.00 – Obstruction & 7.06(b).  The obstructed runner was NOT being played on, so the play should have stayed live until either the obstructed runner was played on or all other play was finished.
Situation 5:  The count on the batter is 2 balls and 2 strikes.  The pitcher delivers ball 3 to the batter and the catcher throws the ball back to the pitcher.  While the batter is adjusting his batting glove the pitcher toes the rubber and fires strike 3.  The manager of the offensive team argues that this is a quick return pitch and should not be allowed.  The umpire rules in favor of the defense – strike 3.  True or False?

Answer:  False.  Rule 2.00 – Quick Return.  Never, ever allow a pitcher to pitch when the batter is not alert and paying attention.
Situation 6:  The batter steps into the batter’s box and promptly strokes a single on the 1st pitch.  The defensive manager comes out to the umpire and appeals to the umpire that the offensive team is batting out of order.  In checking this out, the umpire determines that the batter is an unannounced substitute batter and rules the runner is allowed to stay on 1st.  True or False?

Answer:  True. Rule 3.08(a) (2).  By rule a substitute is in the game when as a batter he steps into the batter's box.
Situation 7:  The local Little League elects to use the continuous batting order in their Major divisions for the upcoming season.  In the top of the third inning the visiting team has a player that becomes ill and must leave the game.  In the top of the fifth inning, the player is feeling better and the visiting manager inserts the player back into the original spot in the batting order and the game continues.  The home team manager protests and the umpire agrees that the player can’t return.  True or False?

Answer:  False. Rule 4.04.  With a continuous batting order a player is in the lineup and is allowed to come back when available.
Situation 8:  A manager is ejected from the game on Saturday. His team is scheduled to play on Wednesday but the game is forfeited.  Since his next game is scheduled for Friday, the manager will be allowed to be in attendance at the game site.  True or False?

Answer:  False.  Rule 4.07.  The rule does not allow for a manager to participate until he sits out one “physically” played game.
Situation 9:  The game is tied in the bottom of the 6th inning with 2 outs and a runner on 3rd base.  The batter hits a sharp ground ball to the 2nd baseman that misses the ball; however, the right fielder makes a super play and throws to 1st base in time to get the 3rd out.  The umpire says the game is over because the runner from 3rd base scored before the 3rd out was made.  True or False?

or False?

Answer:  False.  Rule 4.09(a) EXCEPTION.  This is still a force out no matter how it was made or who made it.
Situation 10:  When the batter takes his position in the batters box, both feet must be within the batters box and the lines defining the box are not considered within the batters box when judging the legal feet position.  True or False?
Answer:  False.  Rule 6.03 Approved Ruling.
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