RULES AND FIELD MECHANICS
Test 8

Situation 1:  The batter hits a line drive single into right field but overruns 1st base.  He makes no attempt to go to 2nd.  The right fielder fires the ball to the 1st baseman who tags the batter-runner before he gets back to the bag.  Is he out?
Situation 2:  There is 1 out, runners on 1st and 2nd.  Batter hits a double to left field.  Runner from 2nd scores, but runner from 1st is thrown out at the plate.  The batter advances to 2nd safely, but is declared out on appeal for missing 1st base.  Does the run count?
Situation 3:  Runner on 1st and an improper batter is up.  The runner advances to 2nd on a wild pitch. The improper batter then singles to right field to score the runner.  The defensive manager properly appeals the batting out of order and the umpire upholds the appeal for the 1st out.  What happens to the runner who scored?
Situation 4:  The runner on 1st is attempting to steal 2nd.  The catcher cocks his arm to throw to 2nd, and accidentally strikes the umpire in the mask.  He hesitates briefly, then fires to 2nd base in time to tag out the runner.  Does the out stand?
Situation 5:  The runner on 1st base is attempting to steal 2nd.  The catcher cocks his arm to throw to 2nd, and accidentally strikes the umpire in the mask.  He hesitates briefly, then fires to 2nd base, too late to retire the runner.  Is this a stolen base?
Situation 6:  There is 1 out, runners on 2nd and 3rd.  Batter hits a double and both runners come home.  The runner from 3rd missed the plate, the runner from 2nd properly touched.  Realizing he missed the plate, the runner from 3rd returns to touch it before the catcher appeals.  Do both runs count?
Situation 7:  Runner on 1st, batter hits an apparent triple.  The runner from 1st misses 2nd.  After he touches 3rd, his coach tells him to go back to 2nd.  He touches 3rd and starts for 2nd when he sees the batter-runner heading for 3rd.  The batter-runner retreats to 2nd and on to 1st.  The runner clings to 2nd base.  May the runner retreat to touch a missed base after he has touched the next base?
Situation 8: Runner on 1st, no outs, and the batter hits a fly ball to left field.  As the ball hits the left fielder’s glove, the runner tags and breaks for 2nd base.  The ball is juggled, but the center fielder makes the catch before the ball hits the ground.  The defensive team appeals that the runner left before the ball was caught.  Is the runner out for leaving too soon?
Situation 9:  In the late innings of a close game, the home team gets a runner to 3rd base.  To guard against a passed ball or wild pitch, the visiting manager brings in his right fielder to play behind the catcher and umpire.  Is this legal?

Situation 10:  The batter swings and hits a high bounding ball down the 1st base line.  The 1st baseman comes in to the field the ball several feet in front of the bag both of his feet are in fair territory as he reaches across the line to field the ball.  Is it a fair or foul ball?
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